top of page
  • Writer's pictureDouglas J. Rathbun

Inkquiring Minds Winter 2024 Pen Sale! PINEIDER AVATAR $140 (REDUCED!)

Updated: Mar 27

I'm running out of pen storage room and the pen purchasing fund is running low. So, I'm having another Inkquiring Minds Fountain Pen Blow-out Sale!


Each of the pens for sale has a corresponding video review on YouTube. I'll briefly describe the pens here, show a photo, and provide the link to the YouTube review.


To purchase a pen, contact me by email at inkquiringminds@gmail.com and I'll provide the information for you to purchase via my PayPal account. I can only accept PayPal and I'm charging $20US for shipping. I will combine shipping and if the actual shipping charges are less than $20, I'll refund the difference via PayPal refund.


I will ship to anywhere Canada Post will ship with tracking and insurance. If the shipping is more than $20, I'll contact you to see if you wish to pay the extra or end the sale.


All of these pens are used, some of them have only been used for the review. Some are over 70 years old and will show signs of wear. All of the pens are working properly when shipped. So, buyer beware, don’t expect a brand-new pen.


All prices are in US dollars.


Let’s get started…


PINEIDER AVATAR TWIN TANK TOUCHDOWN $140 US (REDUCED!)

The PINEIDER AVATAR TWIN TANK TOUCHDOWN is a vacuum filler that has two reservoirs and a cool bayonet locking and unlocking system for the blind cap. The cap is magnetic and makes a great fidget spinner. It has a steel #6 size medium nib.


I’m selling it for $140 US.


EUREKA DIAMOND DODECAGON EBONITE $75 US *SOLD*

I just reviewed this fountain pen last week. The EUREKA DIAMOND DOCECAGON EBONITE is a beautiful rosewood-like ebonite with a diamond faceted cap. It can be eyedroppered to give you 4ml of ink and it has a #6 size Bock steel two-toned micro-blasted medium, hand-tuned nib that is remarkable.


I’m selling it for $75 US.


EUREKA PEEK $85 US *SOLD*

This was my first Eureka fountain pen and it is made of an incredible new plastic called PEEK. The EUREKA PEEK can also be eyedroppered and has a #6 size steel Bock medium nib that writes beautifully and was hand-tuned by Dave at Eureka Pens.


I’m selling it for $85 US


GRAVITAS STEEL POCKET PEN $100 US SOLD

The GRAVITAS STEEL POCKET PEN is a unique fountain pen. It is turned from a solid rod of 304 stainless steel by Ben Walsh. I don’t know of another pocket pen that has a #8 size nib! This is a Jinhao #8 steel fine nib. The body has a flat spot as a roll-stop and the pen posts very deeply and takes standard international short cartridges only. It is substantial in the hand and writes beautifully.


I’m selling it for $100 US


TIANZI URUSHI RADEN STARRY NIGHT  $225 US SOLD

This TIANZI URUSHI RADEN STARRY NIGHT is an incredibly beautiful fountain pen. 

The Urushi lacquer is done by hand in a long process of multiple layers of lacquer and polish and is inlaid with raden abalone and mother of pearl. This one is in the pattern called Starry Night. The nib is a medium #6 size steel and the pen has a standard international converter but can be eyedroppered. It comes with a wooden presentation box.


I’m selling it for $225 US. They are $300 new.


OPUS 88 BELA $100 US SOLD

This is a beautiful acrylic Japanese eyedropper from Opus 88, the OPUS 88 BELA. I continue to get mail about my video review of this pen correcting me that Opus 88 is a Taiwanese company and so this is not a Japanese eyedropper. It is amazing how many people volunteer their ignorance in a public forum. A Japanese eyedropper is a style of filling system and this Taiwanese-made fountain pen is an example of that style. So stop correcting me with your ignorance!


There is a knob that unscrews at the back of the pen which is attached to a rod and a stopper. It looks like it might be a vacuum filler but it is not. So don’t correct me. You eyedropper the ink into the barrel and open and close the blind cap to open or close the ink valve, regulating the flow of ink to avoid ink burping due to temperature or pressure changes. Here endeth the lesson.


It has a beautiful, bouncy, #6 size steel BROAD nib.


And I’m selling it for $100 US.


ASVINE P20 PISTON FILLER $25 US *SOLD*

I voted the ASVINE P20 piston filler one of the best pens of 2023. I have three of them; one in Galaxy, one in Amber, and this one in purple. That’s one too many for me. This one has a #6 size medium steel nib.


I’m selling it for $25 US.


ASVINE P80 SKELETON PISTON FILLER $25 US SOLD

Here’s another Asvine piston filler with a #6 size medium steel nib. This is the ASVINE P80 skeleton in chrome and transparent blue.


I’m selling this one for $25 US.


RANGA 3C RED EBONITE $50 US SOLD

This is one of my three Ranga fountain pens. This RANGA 3C is in red ebonite, has a Jowo  #6 size medium nib, and can be eyedroppered. It is a beautiful, large size but light, ebonite pen.


I’m selling it for $50 US.


HONGDIAN N11 ROMBUS $25 US *SOLD*

This is a beautiful HONGDIAN N11 faceted, anodized-aluminum finished cartridge converter pen with a #6 size steel medium nib. The hardware and nib are ruthenium-plated.


I’m selling it for $25 US.


MAJOHN A1 SNAKESKIN $25 US

I now have four of these Majohn retractable nib fountain pens. Since I’m not much of a retractable fountain pen user, one of them has to go. This MAJOHN A1 has a nice, smooth snakeskin pattern, has the stock EF nib unit, and comes with the extra pack containing the metal cartridge protector, two extra empty cartridges, one with a stopper, and a small eyedropper.


I’m selling it for $25 US


PENBBS 456 BLACK VAC-FILLER $45 US SOLD

Now we get into some of my large Penbbs pen collection that I’m selling. 

The first is a PENBBS 456 BLACK. It has a black cap and barrel and enamel black coated Penbbs #6 size fine nib.


I’m selling it for $45 US


PENBBS 456 NIANGAO $50 US SOLD

Here’s another PENBBS 456, this one is in a rare finish called NIANGAO. These are highly sought after and collectible. This one comes with a two-toned #6 size steel fine nib.


I’m selling it for $50 US


PENBBS 355 BULK FILLER IN NIANGAO $50 US *SOLD*

Here’s another Niango finished Penbbs, this time it is the PENBBS 355 NIANGAO bulk filler.


I’m selling this one for $50 US.


PENBBS 308 NIANGAO $50 US *SOLD*

Here's a third NIANGAO for sale; the classic PENBBS 308.

This is a cartridge converter or eyedropper pen and it has a #6 size steel fine nib.


I’m selling it for $50 US.


PENBBS 489 TOUCHDOWN AMBER IS A CAT $60 US *SOLD*

Yes, you’re not seeing things, I’m selling a Penbbs pen in Amber is a Cat. This is a PENBBS 489 TOUCHDOWN FILLER. You unscrew the blind cap, withdraw the chrome sleeve, put the nib in ink, and push the rod back down. A sack inside the metal sleeve is compressed and then the compression is released at the bottom of the stroke and the sack fills with ink. It is a lovely system that was invented by Sheaffer back in the day.


This "Amber is a Cat" finished fountain pen has a #6 size steel fine nib with the unique Cat’s Paws on it. It is the only nib from Penbbs that has this.


I’m selling it for $60 US.


PENBBS 495 GALAXY PISTON FILLER $60 US SOLD

And I’m truly crazy because I’m a Penbbs pen in my favourite finish; Galaxy. This is a PENBBS 495 PISTON FILLER in Galaxy blue. It is the newest model from Penbbs and the piston is a huge improvement over their previous piston filler. This gorgeous Galaxy blue acrylic pen comes with a #6 size steel fine nib.


I’m selling it for $60 US.


1946 PARKER VACUMATIC SILVER PEARL $120 US *SOLD*

Now we get into some of my vintage restorations. To afford to do future restorations, I have to part with some of my favorites I’m afraid. These are three of my favorites. No, I’m not selling my Azure Blue Vacumatic. I use that every day. But I am parting with three very special Parker Vacumatics. The first is this 1946 PARKER VACUMATIC SILVER PEARL.


This is a third-generation vacumatic speedline and is fully restored. It has a 14k gold fine nib and silver trim.


I’m selling it for $120 US


1938 PARKER VACUMATIC LOCKDOWN EMERALD PEARL $175 US *SOLD*

Next is my 1938 PARKER VACUMATIC LOCKDOWN in emerald pearl. This is a first-generation vacumatic, was made in Canada, and has a two-tone 14k gold fine nib that is juicy and flexible. The lockdown filler works perfectly and the pen has been completely restored.


I’m selling it for $175 US.


1935 PARKER VACUMATIC LOCKDOWN BURGUNDY PEARL $175 US *SOLD*

The last one. It is tough to let this one go. This is my 1935 PARKER VACUMATIC LOCKDOWN in burgundy pearl. This is another first-generation vacumatic, but this one has a second of the same, beautiful, striped burgundy celluloid as the cap and barrel. The blind cap covering the lockdown filler is a little fragile because the original threads are gone. It works but you just have to be careful with it.


It has a 14k gold Parker arrow medium nib that is slightly sub-like. It has some bounce to it but it isn’t as flexible as the Emerald Pearl lockdown. This pen has been fully serviced and restored.


And I’m selling it - no - sacrificing it, for $175 US.


And there you have it. Twenty pens for your shopping pleasure. I will combine shipping on multiple orders.


I will answer your email requests, but pens will go to the first to make a successful payment to my PayPal. If you’ve paid and someone else beats you to it, I will fully refund your payment to you. If Canada Post will not provide tracking and insurance to your destination, I’m afraid there is nothing I can do about it.


In addition to these pens, I have two other fountain pens that have been on my WIX website for sale for several weeks now.


Please take a look at the Parker 51 Demi and the Sheaffer Triumph Pen and Pencil set.


And that’s all she wrote! 




542 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page